3 photos attack 300

El Periódico executive attacked and threatened with gun


An executive from the Guatemalan daily el Periódico was attacked by a man who tried to grab her in a car park before pointing a gun in her face on 17 January. The attacker escaped and was driven away by two people waiting in a recent model BMW. The victim suffered minor physical injuries. It […]

Protest 300

TV2 Tomsk closed by Russian authorities


TV2, Russia’s last politically independent television station, was closed at midnight on 31 December 2014, despite a call by the OSCE for the Tomsk station to be allowed to continue broadcasting. TV2‘s signal was shut down by the Russian Television and Radio Broadcasting Network (RTRS), the local state monopoly that owns broadcasting facilities in the […]

Mkini 15th celebrations 300

Malaysiakini at 15: Standing tall against the odds


Malaysiakini opened its doors to visitors to celebrate its 15th anniversary and to launch its new home on 22 November. Visitors poured into the new building, dubbed @Kini, in Petaling Jaya, close to Kuala Lumpur, which includes a brick wall dedicated to supporters who helped sponsor the construction. Members of the news website’s team provided […]

Outernet Lantern 300

Outernet powers past $200,000 crowdfunding target


Lantern: One Device, Free Data from Space Forever. That’s how Outernet announced its crowdfunding campaign on Indiegogo on November 12. Incredibly, within five days it had passed its $200,000 target. Outernet declared that it wanted to push on to raise more funds to speed up the full deployment of the information-from-space project. With only days […]

IA 50 2014 badge_plain

MDIF selected for ImpactAssets 50 2014


Media Development Investment Fund has been selected for the ImpactAssets 50 2014 (IA 50), a free, online resource for impact investors and their advisors, for the fourth consecutive year. The IA 50, now also in its fourth year, is the first publicly available database of private debt and equity impact investment fund managers. “We are […]